Episode 5

Black Coffee Again!

“It was around 10 to 15 minutes since the train was up and running! I was rehearsing in my mind, on what all should I talk to her, but as like all other boys, I did not to know how to start! That is when her face gave me a clue! She was looking sleepy!

‘Do you feel sleepy?’, I started the convo, to which she surprisingly replied, ‘Yes’. I anticipated a different reply. But as she said yes, I prepared the bed for her and asked her to sleep. She too slept. It was 11 PM and she was sleeping peacefully. I could not sleep as I was admiring her eyes while she slept. There was a slight disappointment that I could not talk to her.

Fortunately, she woke up at around 11.30. There was a loud noise as the train passed a junction and that was sufficient to wake her up. She woke up and told, ’Ah! This noise!’. I told her that it was just a noise at the junction and asked her to sleep again. She replied, ‘Karthik, once I wake up, it is very difficult for me to sleep again’. Though I was smiling sheepishly inside, I put up a concerned face and said, ‘Oh!’.

Now I was recollecting all the dialogues that I rehearsed early again! At the junction, a guy was selling black coffee and I offered her one, which she gleefully accepted. She played the song, ‘Tujhe Dekha To’ on her mobile. It was a two people compartment, so there were no other people to be disturbed by the song. It was surprising for me that she played that particular song. I was about to ask her, but before that, she herself said that, ‘This song is going through my mind since I heard it in the railway station’. I was feeling exuberant inside, but did not show that to her. It was all like a dream – I was in a train at midnight with my favourite girl, with a cup of black coffee and ‘Tujhe Dekha To’ in the background! The 26-hour journey went quickly like a rocket, with us discussing a lot of things – family, career, fashion, lifestyle, sports and on and on!”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started