Episode 3

Two Tickets for Chennai Express

“I was from a normal middle-class family in Puducherry, a French town on the coasts of South India. Like every other Indian middle-class boy, my wish was to get to a decent paying job, take good of my parents and have a beautiful little family. That is satisfaction, isn’t it?

              After completing my bachelors in Coimbatore, I cleared my GATE exam with flying colours. After that, I got into IIT Bombay, my dream and destiny for my masters.”, said Karthik, in a tone that had a lot of pride.

              “Well, coming back to the event, we discussed a few general things over the coffee at the event! There was not much talk that was going on as neither of us knew what to talk. It was very new for us to talk to a stranger, in fact, the first time for me to talk to a girl of my age!” blushed, Karthik.

              “Our WhatsApp texts continued as we became very good friends! On talking, I came to know that she was from Chennai. She had a very rich family in Chennai. Both of her parents were doctors and she also had a brother who was pursuing his medicine degree in the USA. But she was different, very simple, humble and down to earth. She had a different dream. She wanted to start her own business and become a successful entrepreneur. Hence, she was pursuing her Bachelor’s degree in Business in Mumbai.

              It was the time of Diwali, and there was a long weekend coming.  I told her that I was planning to visit home for a week. She said that she was also going home and suggested the Chennai Express, she also said that it was super-fast and comfortable. She also suggested that she would like to join me. I accepted her request to join me as I too had to travel alone for almost a day! Companies are always perfect, that too if you have the perfect person for the company! I booked two tickets for the Chennai Express! I was ready for a long journey!”, Karthik told his grandchildren.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started